Social Work

School Social Work

School Social Work is specialized practice within the social work profession. School social workers are trained in understanding the interaction of the individual and his/her environment. They also receive training in crisis intervention. School social workers do comprehensive assessments within the school setting to determine student's needs.

School Social Work Services

School Social Work Services are provided to children from birth through their school years as required by state and federal law. School Social Work Services are offered when a student shows signs of social, emotional, physical, or environmental difficulties that interfere with their school adjustment and achievement. The following are some examples of behaviors that may indicate the need for services:

  • Constant discipline problem 
  • Irregular school attendance 
  • Aggressiveness toward others 
  • Poor peer/adult relationships 
  • Substance abuse 
  • Depression 
  • Lack of concern with appearance/apathy 
  • Suicidal verbalizations/gestures 
  • Excessive shyness 
  • Frequent physical complaints 
  • School age pregnancy 

School Social Workers Assist Students

  • To understand themselves and others 
  • To improve relationships 
  • To build their self-esteem 
  • To cope with stress 
  • To develop self-discipline 

School Social Workers Assist Parents

  • To identify and meet their child's social and emotional needs 
  • To actively participate in their child's education 
  • To understand programs available to their child 
  • In understanding school policies, procedures and decisions that will affect their child 
  • In becoming aware of community resources 

Students May Be Referred

Students may be referred by contacting the principal in the building where the child attends in order to discuss concerns.

Social Workers
Phone Extension
Schools they serve
Email Address
Stacy Bliss
989.673.2144
ext. 30419
Mayville
PREP/TTC
Vassar
 Amanda Bolzman 989.673.2144
ext. 30358
Millington (including Parochials), ECSE,
Fowler Center
abolzman@tuscolaisd.org
Jeff Davis 989.673.5200 ext. 30551 Caro Center, Lighthouse, HPS jdavis@tuscolaisd.org
 Rhonda Dennis 989.673.5200
ext. 30552
Kingston,
Cass City
Betsy's Place

rdennis@tuscolaisd.org
Heather Grigg
989.823.3040
ext. 1228
Millington, PWL
hgrigg@tuscolaisd.org
Victoria Hahn-Parker
989.673.2144
ext. 30434
Caro
vhahn@tuscolaisd.org
Sue Hoheisel 989.673.2144
ext. 30475
Akron-Fairgrove, 
USA
shoheisel@tuscolaisd.org
 Kristine O'Connor 989.776.0421 WEC koconnor@tuscolaisd.org
 Vanessa Sabo 989.673.2144 ext. 30352 Reese, HPS vsabo@tuscolaisd.org
Judy Stapleton
989.673.5200
ext. 30439
Early On
STEP
jstapleton@tuscolaisd.org